Tags

, , , , ,

20140219-231314.jpg

I like to think of myself as a true optimist, and with the year and a half I’ve had its a darn good thing, since I don’t know where I would be now if it weren’t for that positivity buzzing in my head. Let’s just say life has been tough recently for my little family, well maybe not for my 1 year old son who is spoiled and oblivious and takes delight in Nanna simply wearing a bowl on her head. But it has been difficult.

Sometimes I wonder how I am still clinging to any joy in this life, where atleast one thing goes wrong each week – and sometimes that means two car accidents in 6 days!

Although a self confessed optimist, I am also one of the biggest worriers I know. A bit of a contradiction I know but somehow this is so. Although I am the first to declare how -everything will be fine!- I am also someone who worries in circles until the anxiety makes me sick.

Does this sound like you? Do you feel like there is a forever list of things to fret over?

To worry, is to be caught up in the cares of this world, to be always looking forward at the worst case scenario and waiting for something that will probably never happen. The bible tells us that God doesn’t want us to be living in tomorrow, Matthew 6:34 says this;

Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.

Let us stop living in the morrow, and start rejoicing for what today brings. Because all this tiresome worry is stealing our joy!

When we wake with a head full of gloom in the mornings, we are not seeing the glossy dew on the window pane, or enjoying the smell of a fresh morning after a night of rain. When you live all day long inside your own head, you are not noticing the miracles of today, the blessings to count and be thankful for. When you choose reclusion over community you are throwing away opportunities to feel better! Because nobody feels better trapped inside their own misery, alone and hopeless.

What brings you joy? Is it a hobby? A place? A song?

Go ahead and do it, go there, sing it! Do what makes you happy and rejoice that God is good!

Stop worrying and hand it all over to Him. Put the stress and anxiety into Gods hands and see how light you feel.

To worry, is to accuse of God of not caring. To take everything on your own shoulders and believe that you need to carry the burden yourself. Believe that he cares and be joyous.

And honestly, worrying all the time is just exhausting!

I am certainly not saying that these worries are not important, or that we should sit back and do nothing about them. But sometimes there is only so much we can do to help ourselves, and once we have done all we can, this is the point where we need to hold up our hands and say – God, it’s over to you now!

Can any one of you by worrying add a single hour to your life? Matthew 6:27

So let us not allow our joy to be stolen, let us put our trust and love in our Father and give ourselves permission to relax and enjoy the good things.

20140219-111603.jpg

I am linking up today with Holley Gerth for Coffee for your heart. Please come and join us with your words of encouragement at holleygerth.com.

